Cute Little Dinosaur Boxed Pouch – Sewing Finished Object

So happy when I get to cross things off my to-do list!  I bought this dinosaur print fabric months ago.  I had a few ideas of what I wanted to use it for, but didn’t really decide for certain.

I wanted to make a little boxed bag this month, either for makeup or craft tools.  I normally keep my knitting needles and crochet hooks together, but I don’t really like the way the crochet hooks fit.  I decided this little pouch would be the perfect solution!

My original pouch was so bad!  Well, not at first.  Once I tried to alter it after construction was the mistake.  It was nice and neat but I didn’t plan out the size correctly so it was too short and wide for what I had in mind.  I wish I had more photos.

I decided to try to make it taller and slimmer but that only caused it to be crooked and too tall (photo below)!  The only thing I like about the original version of the pouch was the zipper tabs I used.  I think it gives a nice clean finish:


I realized that when I trimmed the boxed corners, it completely lost its shape and sturdiness, even with interfacing:


Such a disappointment!  I should’ve left it alone!  BUT, I love failures because they’re a learning experience.  I remade the pouch, paying careful attention to what I wanted the finished measurements to be.  I ditched the zipper tab covers, and added actual tabs to ease opening and closing the zipper.  LOVE LOVE LOVE the resulting pouch!

I interfaced both the main and lining fabrics this time for extra durability.


Even though the placement of this tab was slightly off, I don’t care! Lol


I prefer taking the extra time to slip stitch lining seems closed.  It gives a cleaner look than just sewing it closed.


Make sure your directional prints are facing the correct way before you sew!  Also, once you box your corners, don’t trim the excess fabric!  It helps keep the stucture and aid the “boxy” look!



Next time I will definitely choose a coordinating lining thread.  (I was just too lazy to change the bobbin😜):


Can’t wait to make some more of these cute little pouches!

Till next time!

Nik

2 thoughts on “Cute Little Dinosaur Boxed Pouch – Sewing Finished Object

Leave a Reply

