Blue Minky Baby Blanket with Satin Blanket Binding (FO) semi-tutorial

Okay, so I promise this is going to be the last baby blanket for a little while!  I love making them and they’re so quick to finish, but I don’t want to keep boring you with the same style.  This one was for another baby boy that graced the world with his presence this past weekend.  I love this super cute patchwork fabric, that consists of minky and flannel squares.  I hadn’t used minky until the Woodland Creatures Minky Baby Blanket with Satin Blanket Binding so I’ve been on a mini obsession with it.  I loved the dark blue minky for the backing fabric!  I again decided to use the satin blanket binding because I love the nice detail and more professional look it gives.

I like baby blankets somewhere in the 30-40″ range on average so I cut my pieces down to a 31″ x 31″.


Before cutting out the main fabric, I wanted to straighten/even out the edge to make sure my measurements were accurate.  I lined up my straight edge along the first seam line and used my rotary blade.

Pin your fabrics, WRONG SIDES TOGETHER.  This is because you won’t be hiding the seams inside.  Instead, baste or regular stitch all around the edges using your desired seam allowance.


I used a 1/4″ seam allowance so that the blanket binding will be wide enough to cover the sewing line.

For the binding, one package of pre-measured binding will be more than enough for my 31″x31″ blanket.  It comes with 4.75 yards in a package.  Be sure to figure out the perimeter of your blanket to ensure you purchase enough. 

Next, begin placing the binding around the edge.  Be sure not to start too close to the corner because you will need room to overlap the edges.
You’ll notice that one side of the binding is just a bit wider than the other.  Be sure that this wider side goes on the backside of your blanket.

Open the binding (iron if desired), and sandwich your fabrics between the binding and pin if desired:

Yes, those are bobby pins I’m using to avoid snagging the binding:

Set your machine to a zig zag stitch and guide the binding so the the stitches straddle the edge of the binding.  This will make sure that the edge on the backside is caught in the seam as well.

I wish I had pictures for the remaining, but I was so frustrated that I forgot to take them as I was finishing today.

For the corners:  continue sewing until you reach the end of the fabric.  Turn the fabric in the direction of the next side you will be sewing.  Be sure the edge of the blanket is flush inside the crease of the binding:

Fold the corners inward at a 45 degree angle to get the nice mitered corner.  The binding edges should meet at a 90 degree angle if done correctly.  Be sure to sew over the edge to keep it in place. It can be tricky to catch the backside, and for me I usually have to do a second row of stitches in order to catch the back seam.

Finishing: If you have extra binding remaining, trim leaving enough to overlap the starting point.  I like to leave enough so that I can fold the edges inward to create a point (similar to the angle created when joining bias strips).  Sew in place as you did for the corners and you’re all set!



For some reason, this specific blanket was the most stressful thing I’ve ever made!  There were so many moments I wanted to throw it across the room!  I think if I had to seam rip one more time, I would’ve broken down in tears (literally).  Everything was going great until it was time to add the binding.  No matter what I did, I just could not seem to get my corners turned and mitered nicely.  Once I got past a corner and continued down the side, the binding would shift and the threads wouldn’t catch the back of the binding!  I don’t know if I was just overly tired or what, but I realized it was time to walk away and come back to it later.
Although I love the look of the blanket binding, I don’t think I’ll continue to use it quite as often.  Overall, I’m happy I decided to try it out for these last couple of blankets.

2 thoughts on “Blue Minky Baby Blanket with Satin Blanket Binding (FO) semi-tutorial

Leave a Reply

