Taking a trip down memory lane…

I recently shared this photo on instagram from 2012.  It was one of the first garments I ever attempted to draft completely from scratch.  I had done plenty of items from manufacturer patterns, but this was the real deal.  I draped it on the stand in muslin, did test fittings, etc!  I think this may have even been the first time I tried using an invisible zipper.


Don’t get me wrong, it was far from perfect.  The fit still needed work even after the adjustments, but overall she was happy and nobody would ever know it didn’t come from a store.


In no way do I dream of being a “designer” or having my own clothing line or any of that.  I genuinely enjoy the process.  I love drafting, sewing, and actually seeing the product develop in front of my eyes.  I’ve got an exciting and challenging new adventure in the works, so I’ve been trying to get my focus and mindset back into doing this.  Looking at some of my old pictures is reminding me that I can do it.  It’s most definitely going to be my biggest crafting challenge to date, and I’m sure there will also be plenty of missteps to share along the way, but I’m confident I can do it!

Leave a Reply

