Toddler Handknit Camo Beanie with Pom Pom

I’m not a huge fan of the Red Heart Super Saver yarns, but they make a great choice to save money when working on practice pieces.  Nothing is more frustrating than wasting an expensive skein of yarn on a project that comes out less than stellar.

My little nephew is always gone on Army posts, so I was inspired to make a little camo beanie for him.  I happened to have this Super Saver yarn on hand in the color Woodsy Sylvestre.  I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about how the camo pattern was working up, but from a distance, it really shows.  I think what really pulls it together is the pom pom.  I originally chose to leave it off as I’ve never been a big pom pom fan (although they’ve grown on me significantly).  It just gives it that extra level of cuteness I think.

I didn’t have a pattern to reference and I was just creating as I went along, so I’m really pleased that the measurements fit him perfectly!  I was so excited to try out my new pom pom maker as well.  It’s so much better than using a makeshift template or my hand like I used to lol!

Leave a Reply

